Gaming with CORE

What is CORE?

Our new bulletin board is a weekly contest connecting research and photographs. It’s called CORE:

C is for Connect

IMG_2035

O is for Observe

IMG_2036

R is for Research

IMG_2037

E is for Evaluate

IMG_2038

Put the letters together and it looks like this!

IMG_2031

One of the important aspects of the new Common Core standards in writing is research.

research standard pix

 In the library, one way we are supporting this standard is through a fun weekly research game.Every Monday I display a new photograph on the bulletin board.

IMG_2032

 

Students have until Friday to pick up a answer sheet, research the answer and return their paper to the CORE box.

IMG_2033

Students can talk to their friends or families, look it up on our databases, use books or encyclopedias, or search on the internet for the answer.

 IMG_2034

IMG_2039

Everyone who participates gets their name on the wall and stickers are added each week a person participates. The answer sheets are corrected. Everyone gets a fun sticker if they write down an answer. If it’s the right answer, I add a fun bookmark as well.

All of the photos I have used so far have been pictures I have taken as I have traveled to different places both near and far.

elk

Last week, I had a photo of some Roosevelt elk grazing in North Bend, Washington with Mt. Si in the background. We had lots of entries, but only Mina had both of the correct answers. Apparently I have talked a lot about Africa because the most popular answer was gazelles grazing on the African plains!

Anyone can participate and remember it is not cheating to talk with your family about the answer. In fact, that’s a great idea because if use the internet, the adults can help you search safely.

Who said research can’t be fun? 

*********************

What search engine or database do you like to use?

What kind of photograph do you suggest I consider using in the future?

Leave a comment and let me know!

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

12 thoughts on “Gaming with CORE

  1. I would love to try your contest to get more kids into the library. While you have pictures of your answer sheet in the photo, I can’t tell what the long checklist is. Resources used? And I see that you have 2 questions per picture, right?
    Great idea.

    • Dear Ms. Keating,
      Thanks for visiting our blog. Yes, the long green paper has the list of databases and passwords available for our students. Most of the time I have two questions, but not always. It simply depends upon the photo. I’ve had a lot of photos so far that are places. In these cases, I’ve asked for the name of the place and where it’s located. I’ve been using photos I’ve taken myself, but I am going to use some Creative Common photos in the future.
      Have fun! I put a fun sticker on everyone’s paper that is turned in and a bookmark if the answer is correct. Then on the bulletin board, everyone gets another sticker to show their participation.
      Mrs. Hembree

  2. Hi, I loooooove your idea! Just a few questions… Does the student get their name on the board if they participate and it’s correct? I was looking at the picture of all the names you’ve stapled to the board. Are there dots next to the names? If so, what are those for? Last question, can you email me an example of your handout that the kids fill in? I’d love to see what you have on there. Can’t really see in your picture. Again, I think this idea is great. What feedback have you gotten from your teachers and parents?

    • Dear Gina,
      I’m so glad you like our research bulletin board! It’s been really popular. Every Monday, as the students walk by, then stop and look at the new photo and pick up a worksheet. I love overhearing conversations and debates about the identity of the photograph. Every student who participates gets their name on the board and each time they turn in an entry, they earn a new sticker next to their name, whether their entry is correct or not. Then on Fridays, I return the worksheet. If their answers are correct, they get a bookmark for a prize. If the answer is not correct, they get a fun sticker for trying.
      The response to the bulletin board has been really positive. Kids and parents often work together at home to figure out the answer. I hope you will give it a try!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

    • Yes, I have a photo on the bulletin board and copies on a table. Students can take them home, research the answer, bring back and put in the box. It’s fun!

  3. I, too, would like a copy of your answer sheet if possible. I’m very new and love this idea. It’s the most original one I’ve seen.

    • Karol,
      Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I’ve just switched schools and as soon as I can find my copy, I will send it to you. Sorry about the delay.
      Julie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *