Favorite Books of 2012

Have you ever read a book that you just couldn’t forget?

Did it make you laugh? Cry? Shout?

 Today’s post is about my favorite books from 2012. These are the standout books from a year of reading.  Even though I may have read them months ago, I still think about them and consider them book friends. When I see the cover, or think of a passage from the book, I get a smile on my face. Not all of these books were written in 2012, although most of them were. I am in the process of reading all the Newbery Medal winners, so one book was published years ago. All, except the young adult books are available in our library. I hope you will stop in and check them out!

Tomorrow the American Library Association will announce all of the Youth Media Awards at their Mid-Winter Conference here in Seattle. I will be at the press conference for the very first time!  I can’t wait to see what books won medal and honor awards. Above any other books, I have my fingers crossed for The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate and Wonder by RJ Palacio.

Here are my standouts from a year of reading!

Categories: Favorite Graphic Novels, Favorite Picture Books, Favorite Non-Fiction Picture Books,Favorite Middle Grade Novels, Favorite Young Adult Novels, Favorite Audio Books

So there you are…my favorites. Not all will win awards tomorrow at the ALA conference. However, they have already won a special award in my heart because each of these books has touched me in a very personal way. I’m looking forward to lots of reading in 2013 and seeing where my reading travels take me!

***********

Were any of these books favorites for you this year?

Is there a book I should have included?

Leave us a comment and let us know!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2012

  1. Dear Mrs.Hembree

    I think it’s neat you have so many books that are your favorite some of my favorites are Wonder,True Colors,Colin Fischer,Splendors And Glooms,The One And Only Ivan and Topping (My Mom liked all these books too and really liked the Spindlers).I will be exited if any of these books win the newberry

    Love your friend Josa

    • Dear Josa,

      Remember when you and your mom gave me a copy of Ivan last January? I don’t think I’ll ever forget that and now the book is a NEWBERY WINNER!!! Yes, I am screaming! It’s so cool!

      I also shouted loudly when This is Not My Hat won the Caldecott! In fact Jon Klassen won a Caldecott Medal and Honor Award for Extra Yarn. i think he must be having a pretty fantastic day for him too!

      How would you celebrate an award like this?
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  2. Dear Mrs Hembree,
    Awesome post.
    At school we have the book Hello Hello. My favourite book for 2012 would have to be The One and Only Ivan. I just love how Ivan paints pictures then he shows Julia. I have a feeling Katherine Applegate put a lot of effort into The One and Only Ivan novel she wrote. I read a bit about Wonder but it made me a bit sad so I didn’t end up reading it all. I don’t think you have missed a book as I feel you have picked out some amazing books Mrs Hembree.

    From,

    BB.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *