Speaking of Halloween

Halloween is less than two weeks away and in the Bulldog Library we are ready! There are two baskets full of Halloween books for check out, plus a couple new ones I just added to the collection!

Here are the new books I’ve added to our Halloween collection.

 

 

Now, just because something is new, it doesn’t mean it is better! I have three favorite Halloween books that have been around for a very long time. In fact one of them is now out of print, but it doesn’t keep me from reading it to my students.

In kindergarten, I like to read Hoodwinked by Arthur Howard. This is the story of a young witch who wants to find a new scary, creepy pet like all her relatives have. However, when something scratches at her door one night, she learns that maybe there are other choices!

 

 

 

My all-time favorite Halloween story is not a scary story at all! It’s actually one that will make you laugh out loud! Bring on Dav Pilkey, master of all books funny!

  The book is told in three chapters, starring Dragon. Poor Dragon is not the sharpest tool in the shed and is having a hard time finding a pumpkin that’s as big as a house! When he only finds six little pumpkins, he’s very disappointed. However, things work out for Dragon in a very funny way! Look for Dragon’s Halloween in our library!

 

 

 

The book that is sadly out of print has the same title as one of the new books in our collection! I bought my book in 1996 a very long time ago! It stays in my special Halloween collection because I want to keep it to read to my classes each year!

 For both stories, you need to know the tune of “The Twelve Days of Christmas” to help you along! It’s a fun story to sing loud and crazy on Halloween! I’m sure the new version is just as great, I just don’t have as much experience with it!

 On the fifth night of Halloween,

my goblin gave to me:

Five pounds of worms,

four cackling witches,

three jack-o’-lanterns,

two hairy toads,

and a spooky owl

in a gnarled tree.”

I hope you find a great Halloween book to read at home! We have a big collection to choose from. 

 In the meantime, I am working on my Halloween costume. No, Halloween is not just for kids! Adults like Halloween too – especially me! Each year I choose a book character for my costume.  A few years ago I was …..

 Another time I chose….

 So which character will it be this year? I was torn between two choices! There are two very popular book series in our library this fall. I went to Destiny Quest, a kid friendly version of our library catalog, to get some information.

*****************************
Do you know who I will dress up as yet? 
Take a guess and leave us a comment!  
What book character would you choose?
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

16 thoughts on “Speaking of Halloween

    • Dear Griffin,
      Shh…don’t tell anyone, but you are correct! I’m going today to try to find some mouse ears! I think Harry Potter would be a fun character to dress up as!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  1. Hi Mrs Hembree

    Halloween is becoming more popular in Australia where children like to dress up and go trick-or-treating.

    We have “Scaredy Cat Splat!” in our LRC too. I’ll have to get the Marley one next.

    I can’t wait to see your costume for this year!! Have fun…

    Miss Y 🙂

    • Dear Miss Y,
      Thank you so much for commenting on our blog. I love knowing that two schools so far from each other have the same book in their libraries!
      Dressing up for Halloween is a huge event here! I have never grown up and still love to dress up!

      What book character would you choose Miss Y?
      Wondering,
      Mrs. Hembree

  2. Dear Mrs Hembree,

    I just love your post about Halloween. Here in Australia it is not as popular as it is in your part of the world.
    But in saying that I am going to a 40th bithday party and it is going to be a Halloween one at that.

    I plan to dress up as a not so well bride. Really enjoyed your photos which you have put up.

    I am with Griffin I thought you may be going as one of the characters out of the Baby Mouse books. Would really love to see that photos too Mrs Hembree.

    Happy Halloween to you and your Bulldog readers.

    From you batty friend down under,
    AA.

    • Dear AA,
      I think you will make a fabulous “not so well” bride! I have known other people who have done something similar and it’s a fun costume to wear!

      I went to the second hand shop yesterday and found a perfect dress for my costume, plus a wig! It’s all about the wig you know! Now I have to figure out a tail and whiskers! Plus I have to make a large pink heart.

      I will certainly post photos! I won’t exactly look like Babymouse, but I will have a great time trying!
      From your crazy librarian friend,
      Mrs. Hembree

  3. Dear Mrs Hembree,
    BOO! did I scare you Mrs Hembree?

    I am going to dress up as a weird charcter for example I am going to wear vampire teeth, fake devil fingers and a vampire ring.

    Mrs Hembree I think you are dressing up as BabyMouse becasue I know how much you love her.

    If I had the chance to dress up as a book charcter I would dress up as Gernimo Stiltion.

    From your pal,
    BB.

    PS I have read a book about Marley the dog.

    • Dear BB,
      Agh! I am SO scared! You are going to be very scary as a vampire! That is a classic costume here for Halloween! One time I dressed up as a witch with full makeup and clothes and wig and nobody knew who I was! I love the acting a different character part of Halloween.

      Dressing up as Geronimo Stilton is a great idea! His books are pouplar and lots of fun to read!

      Now, I’m off to teach a day of classes!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  4. Dear Mrs.Hembree,
    So do you like halloween? If you do I like halloween it is because the candy you get at a house. I know the best neighborhood that gives a full bar for candy that you get at a candy store. Happy halloween. Your buddy Alex.

    • Dear Alex,
      Halloween is my 2nd favorite holiday! I love to dress up and become another character.

      Unlike most people though, candy is not the favorite part of Halloween. I am not a huge candy eater. When I was young, my mother used to throw it away because I didn’t eat it!

      I hope you enjoy Halloween and find a cool costume! I found a great one for not much money at Value Village!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  5. @ Mrs Hembree,

    You did well finding your items of clothing for your Halloween dress up.
    I can’t wait to see the photos.

    How right you are Mrs Hembree it is all about the wig. 🙂

    Wish I could help you make a tail and some whiskers. Anyway what every you make I am pretty sure it will be prefect.

    As for my outfit it is an old black dress which I have had for many years. I have some black fake roses which I have covered with fake spiders web and tiny spiders sitting amongst the dead roses. I only now have to make a head and veil piece not sure if I should go red or black.
    What do you think Mrs Hembree?

    Now I must fly on my broom.
    From AA.

    • Dear AA,
      I wish I was going to be there to see your costume! It sounds fabulous! Fake spiders and black roses and webbing? Perfect! I want to see your photos!
      It sounds like your main clor of the costume is black. The veil piece might be better black with some more spider webbing added!

      Do you have witches shoes too or only a broom handle?

      Laughing in WA,
      Mrs. Hembree

  6. @ Mrs Hembree ,

    Thank you for writing back to me. You have helped me out.

    Hopefully if I get some photos will try to send it to you.
    Now as for the shoes I have really pointy boots and as for a broom I carry one around with me everyday HA HA.

    Now am off on my broom to buy some netting for my veil.

    From your friend,
    AA.

  7. Dear Mrs Hembree,

    Sorry for this but BB is having a few problems with her blog and I just wanted to see if I can still visit and write on you blog.

    For she seems to be able to recieve comments but when it comes to replying back to them it is abit of a hassel as it won’t let her.
    Oh well when it comes to computers I am so silly. Hopefully Mrs Morris can help us.
    Can you just email me to let me know if you received this comment please.
    Then delate it.

    Sorry for hassling you.
    From your friend,
    AA.

    • Dear AA,
      I sent you an email. Mrs. Morris would be a great resource since I can’t diagnose much from here. Also Edublogs has a great service to help people.
      Enjoy your day!
      Mrs. Hembree

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *