A Very Special Day

Do you ever have those days that you know you will remember for a very long time?

I do, and today was one of them.

After listening to the story Big Al by Andrew Clements,

big al

I asked them, “What do you think this story is really about?”

If you have not read Big Al, it’s a story about a very nice fish, who has no friends because he is extremely scary looking.

Here is sample of what the first graders had to say:

“Do  not pick your friends by what they look like, but by their character.”  ~Haley

“Everyone has a certain place in the world, and that’s yourself.” ~Nicholas

“Everyone’s perfect, except the bad guys.” ~Kayden

“Don’t judge someone by how they look.” ~Joel

“You should never judge the person for what they look like.” ~Bella

“If you’re younger, that doesn’t mean you can’t be friends.” ~Sasha

“…it just matters if they’re nice to you.” ~Milica

I think those are amazingly wise comments for first graders!

However, that’s the first part of what made this day so terrific!

Here’s the other part….. Mrs. Hovis was selected by the radio station, STAR 101.5 as their

Teacher of the Week!

  

Mrs. Hovis with Julia who sent in the nomination to STAR 101.5

Mrs. Hovis with Julia who sent in the nomination to STAR 101.5

 

 Mrs. Hovis has taught at our school for over 40 years! Today, she was recognized for being the incredible teacher that she is in front of her class, colleagues and family! KOMO New Channel 4 was on hand to film as Mrs. Hovis received her check, a plaque and a key that puts her in a drawing for a new car.  Each student also received a goodie bag filled with gifts, including a cool t-shirt.

Check out our video of this fabulous event!

 

 

Tell us what you think about our special day!

Do you have a comment you could add to our first grade sayings?

Why would you nominate your teacher as the “Teacher of the Week?”

Leave us a comment and let us know!

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

12 thoughts on “A Very Special Day

  1. Aloha first graders,
    Big Al has always been a favorite story of mine. I think the author wanted us all to know that how someone looks doesn’t tell us what is in his/her heart. Big Al was scary but he was kind and good. So the next time you meet someone remember Big Al and you may make a new friend.
    Mrs. Jacobs

  2. Dear Mrs Hembree,

    The book above the post was my favourite book when I was in grade prep.

    My best friend and I used to love to share this book together when we in the classroom.

    I do have a good saying we are all the same on matter if we look different!

    I loved your special star day with your special teacher. She sure is a special teacher.

    I hope your win that special star award one day for being the best librarian teacher. 🙂

    From your pal,
    BB.

  3. Mrs. Hovis was my 1st grade teacher! She taught me so much in 1st grade! Without her i wouldn’t be the person i am today! Mrs. Hovis congratulation!! You deserve this award and I’m so glad they gave it to you!!!

  4. Wow! Congratulations Mrs. Hovis! What a contribution you have made! I sincerely hope you win the new car!

    We have been reading a lot of nonfiction books about fish and their adaptations. However, I think I will read Big Al to the class on Monday. What a terrific message it has. I think all of the first graders would make wonderful friends!

    Your pal,
    Mrs. Y♥llis
    California

    P.S. How did Mrs. Hovis fit that check in her wallet? 🙂

  5. Dear Mrs Hembree,

    I really enjoyed reading about Mrs Hovis wow what an wonderful teacher to have and still teaching.
    This is a wonderful achievement and it really is lovely that she is reconized too!

    Now if I had to pick a star award I really would pick my mum for she is the best. Always saying to me as a child you achieve what ever you want out of life. As well as saying everyone is special no matter what. She is always there with open arms and never wants anything in return.

    From your pal down under,
    AA.

  6. Dear Mrs.Hembree,
    My family loves Mrs.Hovis,she was my first grade teacher. I would like to nominate Mrs. Adair because she has worked hard to make hard things easy.

    Love,
    Hannah

  7. Dear Mrs. Hembree, is Mrs.Hovis retireing next year.And oh my gosh Mrs. Hovis taught for forty years!Do you get real money for the cheak I hope you do.I wonder how many students did you teach for the last forty years it must be alot.

  8. I read Big Al this afternoon to our 4-year olds in Kinder 1. I thought they would not like it. But they stayed glued to their spots with different facial expressions on their faces.
    It’s our BookWeek Celebration and Big Al is a favorite book of mine especially that our theme is Under the Sea.

    • Dear Flida,
      Isn’t it fun to find out what stories are captivating to children? Personally I don’t think the cover on Big Al is the best. It’s almost scary looking, but the story inside is a treasure.
      Have fun celebrating Bookweek! Big Al is a fabulous choice for your Sea theme! Have you already read Rainbow Fish to your students? I love that one too!
      Keep reading!
      Julie Hembree

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *