Kindergarten Book Links

In our library classes the kindergarten students have been doing author studies and learning about book connections. We have been talking about the different ways we can connect to a book.

Book to Self

Book to Book

Book to World

book links table

 Every time we read a new book or study a different author, we talk about how the books connect. It’s part of our library lesson. Now the kindergarten students are beginning to see the same connections in their own classrooms.

Check out our video of Gavin, who discovers one of the books in his classroom is by Lois Ehlert, an author we studied in library class!

 

Tell us about a book connection you have had!

Was it a book to self connection?

Was it a book to book connection?

Was it a book to world connection?

Tell us about it! I bet there are a lot of book to world connections!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

5 thoughts on “Kindergarten Book Links

  1. Dear Gavin,
    Yes! Yes! Yes! I like it Gavin! You made a great book to book connection! I am so glad you saw that Color Zoo is another one of Lois Ehlert’s books. I heard someone mention in the background another one. Snowballs is the one with the dog snowman and boy snowman. It is also a Lois Ehlert book. She is the author of both books.
    Great job! I wonder what other connections you will find!
    From,
    Mrs. Hembree

  2. Aloha Gavin,
    I love Lois Ehlert! Two of my favorite books are “Feathers for Lunch” and “Nuts to You!”
    Connections are so important Gavin and you are making them.
    Books are wonderful and I can tell you enjoy them.
    Mrs. Jacobs

  3. Thank you, Mrs. Butler for videoing that!
    Gavin – I LOVE how excited you are to explain your connection! Keep up the good work!
    From,
    Mrs. Robertson

  4. Dear Mrs. Jacobs, Mrs. Robertson and Mrs. Hembree,
    Thanks for sending me those comments. I like Leafman too because there were all the leaves and they are kind of cool.
    From,
    Gavin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *