A Fruity Story

What kind of fruit do you like to eat? 

Supermarket Produce (and Poem)
Photo Credit: Faith Goble via Compfight


That was the question my second grade reading group had to ask themselves recently. We read the book The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers. In this book, the crayon colors write a series of letters to Duncan, complaining about his use or non-use of them. The red crayon starts by saying,

“Hey Duncan,

It’s me, RED crayon. WE NEED to talk. You make me work harder than any of your other crayons.”…..

After reading the book and laughing about the misery of these crayons, we decided to write our own version. The students brainstormed different topics and then voted to have FRUIT be the topic of our book.

Each student wrote  their letter and then typed them in word. They learned how to change the font, point size and color of  the letters in their final draft. Then they used oil pastels to create their illustrations. 

Here is: THE DAY THE FRUIT QUIT

The Day the Fruit Quit

*****************

What is your favorite page?

If you could write a similar book, what topic would you choose?

Leave us a comment and let us know!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

8 thoughts on “A Fruity Story

  1. Hi Mrs Hembree and the Second Grade Reading Group,

    “The Day the Crayons Quit” was one of our favourite books in our library last year!

    I love the fabulous story you have collaboratively written and illustrated using different fruits. You are all very creative. It’s hard to choose a favourite one, but I do like Emina’s letter from the poor squished grape.

    If I wrote a similar book I might write it from some of the library books in our library. “The Day the Library Books Quit”. What do you think?

    Miss Y 🙂

    • Dear Miss Y,
      The Day the Library Books Quit is a great choice. Will it start the books on the bottom shelf that nobody will bend over and look for?
      Have a super day!
      Mrs. Hembree

    • Hi Luka,
      I love comic and graphics. They are so much fun, although I admit, for me, they are not as relaxing to read. I find I have to work hard to understand some graphic novels, especially the manga style ones.
      What’s it like for you to read them? Are they easier or harder?
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  2. Hi Mrs Hembree and Luka,

    I would include books that tell great stories, but people judge them by their front cover or always overlook them for the newer books. I think I would also include books by very popular authors (like Andy Griffiths) that are exhausted from being read all the time and need a “book break”…

    Miss Y 🙂

  3. Dear Mrs. Hembree,
    Did you like the story the day the cryons quit? I did! I had a great time making our story. .Aiden did a really good job making his banana It was a great book!
    from Kole

    • Kole,
      I LOVED the story The Day the Crayons Quit! It made me laugh so much. I think the author and illustrator really understand crayons! My favorite page was the red crayon that gets used too much.
      What was your favorite page?
      You did an awesome job at leaving a comment! Woo-hoo!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  4. I am a 4th grader in a different school district. my G&T teacher showed me the book: the day the fruit quit. I loved it!!!!!!! tell your students great job!!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *