Just One Word

Can you think of just one word that would summarize your goals for the year?

oneword

Forget the New Year’s Resolutions!

Most of us can’t keep them, and by March can’t even remember clearly what they were. However, we can all remember one word for 365 days. I learned about the #oneword movement on Twitter and then saw a segment on the Today show with motivational speaker Jon Gordon. On his blog he talks about how the staff at Hidden Lakes Elementary painted rocks with their one word and have them displayed in their classrooms.

Hidden Lakes Elementary

I thought the idea of one word was something I could follow and so could my students. In class, the 3rd graders chose one word and then used it to design a bookmark. Then we got really silly and wrote our words on our hands with watercolor marker, so it would spark conversations with other people. At recess, a 5th grade student came up to me and showed me her bracelet. It turns out we like the same word.

photo

I chose INSPIRE because I want to focus on helping people see the wonder of books and the power of technology. See? It’s not hard to choose a word. It just has to be about something you want to do for the next 365 days. Turn it into a bookmark, decorate a rock or put it on a sticky note and hang it in your bedroom.

So…what’s your #oneword?

Leave me a message and let me know!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

8 thoughts on “Just One Word

  1. Julie,

    We do this every year! My word for the year is ‘attunement’ – which both spell check and Tarun, my husband think is not a real word (!) but to me it means bringing harmony by tuning in and really listening. I like the vision of a radio dial tuning in to the just the right spot.
    Josa has a few words that he’s still considering and Tarun’s word is kindness.
    I think ‘inspire’ must have been your word for the last few years ; )

    Judy

    • Dear Judy,
      Attunement is a great word! I think it’s similar to being fully present in whatever you are doing. The radio dial is a great visual. I know I need to work on being fully present and attuned to what I am doing. I often get fragmented, through no fault, but my own.
      My word last year was dream – and yes – it’s pretty similar to this year!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  2. Dear Mrs.Hembree

    My word is mindfulness beacuse I don’t take advise that well from my parents but I’m trying this year to be attuned and mindful of what they are saying. I can’t believe that all of us have simular ones! I think this post is great it makes you think about lots of stuff and that’s a good thing to do.

    From your friend Josa.C

    • Dear Josa,
      We all need to be mindful of each other. We can listen to what others say and be thoughtful about their advice. We all don’t agree all the time and what a boring world it would be if we all thought the same way. Being mindful allows for thought and independence.
      Cool Word!
      Mrs. Hembree

  3. What a lovely idea, Mrs Hembree! I had not come across this before, but enjoyed thinking about my word…
    Generosity
    Of spirit, rather than of material things. To say kind words to others, to recognise and acknowledge their strengths and achievements. I’ll see if I can live up to it!
    Mrs Monaghan

    • Dear Mrs. Monaghan,
      Generosity is a fabulous word. I think it’s a word we can all strive to include more in our lives. Thanks for thinking about your word and leaving a comment!
      Happy New Year,
      Mrs. Hembree

  4. Dear Mrs Hembree,

    Happy New Year to you and all your fellow students and bloggers.

    I really love this blog post and it got me thinking and the one word I would say is my year word would be kind.
    I’m so passionate about been kind to every one no matter how young or old they are. I remember when used to be a shop assistance everyday when I would arrive at work, I would make it a point of been kind to my customers.
    To this day I still follow this path.
    The funny thing is that every now and then I would see one of my customers and they would often comment on how kind I was when dealing with them. It is so nice to know that you can put your words into actions.

    From a very hot summers down under,
    AA 🙂

    • Happy New Year AA,
      It is not a surprise that your word is KIND! It has always been my impression that you are a very kind person and try your best to make other people happy.
      It has been a mild winter here and not too cold or rainy in Seattle. Other parts of the country have had it terrible.
      I found a bracelet that says DREAM on it and I bought it. I thought I might wear it when I go to Barcelona. It will be a dream trip!
      Stay cool!
      Mrs. Hembree

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *