Super Summer Silly Reading

It’s time for our 3rd annual

Super Summer Silly Reading Program!

super summer

Hitu-Jaws-com-1http5l

Audrielle6519c

It’s just as important to read in the summer time as it is during the school year. To make it a little more fun, we add a dose of silliness! We get caught reading in super fun or super silly places!

Ellie Mt. Rainierc

Nicholas Coy Reading at Stevens Pass (Large)c

It’s super easy to participate! Here are the directions:

1. Choose a book! Any book – paper, audio, or electronic (iPad, Nook, Kindle)

 2. Snap a photograph of yourself reading this summer! It can be silly or serious. It can be a picture of you here or there or anywhere! Do not hurt yourself or your book! No underwater reading!

3. Ask your parents to email the photograph to Mrs. Hembree between now and September 1, 2013. Send to my blog email address:

                       gmail

 ***Important Parent Note: By emailing the photograph, you grant Mrs. Hembree permission to post it on the Bulldog Reader Blog http://bellbulldogreaderblog.edublogs.org

 4. Prizes will be given to everyone who participates. In the fall, I will make a poster of all of our photos and hang it in the new library!

5. Have fun! The best part about reading in the summer is making your own choices on what to read! Twenty minutes a day all summer long will keep your reading skills sharp and ready for the fall.

Need an idea for what to read? Keep checking the blog. I plan on posting ideas and review all summer long. Plus don’t forget about the awesome Dig into Reading program at any of the KCLS libraries this summer. 

EL Dig Into Slogan

Count your minutes with me and get to 1,000 minutes by August 31st!

*This idea originally came from Mr. Schu at BrookForest Elementary in Naperville, Illinois and Mrs. Miller in Van Meter, Iowa. It is used with their permission.

*****************

What book will you read first this summer?

Leave a comment and let us know!

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

7 thoughts on “Super Summer Silly Reading

    • Hi Shannon,
      Yes, it’s such a blast. We got the idea from John Schu and Shannon Miller – they have the best ideas! I love my librarian PLN!
      Julie

  1. Dear Mrs Hembree,

    Happy summer holiday to you and all your wonderful Bulldog readers. I can’t wait to read and view they photographs your wonderful readers will send in.
    Here in Australia it’s our winter the days have been rather grey and wet.

    At present the only interesting book that I have been reading is a first aid book for I am planning along with BB to do a first aid course this weekend. Hopefully we will both past.

    Now enjoy your summer holiday and will re visit again Mrs Hembree.

    From your friend AA 🙂

    • Dear AA,
      Reading First Aid manuals counts too! I can just visualize a great photo with that book in the center! All reading counts, especially winter Australian reading!
      We have 3 more days of school and then it’s vacation!

      From,
      Julie

  2. Hi Mrs Hembree

    I can’t believe it’s Summer Reading time for the Bulldog Readers and the end of the school year. Where did that time go?

    We did this for one of our Book Weeks and it is so much fun!. I was amazed at the many different and fun places our students found to read! I guess that’s one of the best things about books – you can read them just about anywhere!

    It sounds like your new library is getting closer. When will you be moving in?

    Have a fabulous summer holiday Mrs Hembree and the Bulldog Readers!

    Miss Y 🙂

  3. Dear Mrs Hembree,

    I just cannot believe that it has been three years when you first started this awesome competition. I have just got back for doing my first aid course with my mum and I am happy to say that we both passed.

    At this moment I am reading a book called Goose bumps. Its about this two twins with magical powers. It really is a great read.

    Wow that is super cool that your summer holiday starts in three days time. I have only got two more weeks and then I am on two weeks holidays.

    Hope you have a great summer holiday Mrs Hembree.

    From BB 🙂

    • Dear BB,
      You are reading Goosebumps? Are you having bad dreams at night? Not too scary? I can’t read spooky books because they seem to come alive in my dreams. Not a good thing if I want to sleep! Goosebumps are very popular here too. So are the Vampire Diaries – the girls really like them.

      What are you going to do on your vacation? I’m going to see Mrs. Yollis in just a few days! We are both going to the same technology convention in Texas. I can’t wait to see her!

      Yours,
      Mrs. Hembree

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *