Thank you Near and Far

 

Congratulations and thank you everyone who made our annual bookfair a screaming success!

Also,  between sales at the fair and sales online, we are at 103% of our

 fundraising goal! That means that I will be book shopping in the upcoming weeks for

new books to add to our library.

 

This is the stack I already purchased from the fair. If there is a book you absolutely must check out, leave me a reserve copy slip and I will get it to you as quickly as I can.

Many, many thanks to our bookfair volunteers! Without their help, our fair would not have been such a great success! Here is our STAR CAST of volunteers!

Josa Chadha

Maya Lustgarten

Mrs. Lustgarten

Mrs. Bernard

Mrs. Luedicke

Mrs. Blackford

Mrs. Kenney

 Mr. Fornia’s kindergarten class also deserves a Super Special Shout-out! His class had the  most online sales  of any teacher at our school! Way to go Mr. Fornia’s class! Everyone is getting a SUPER STAR bookmark! Woo-hoo!

When I named this post Thank You Near and Far, it’s because of our blogging friends thousands of miles away from here. I want to give a terrific thank you to BB and her mom AA in Australia! On Friday when I got home from school, I found this in my mailbox!

Inside was this…..

I love my new Geelong Cats hat. This is an Australian “football” team. In the US, we call it “rugby” and in Australia, they call it football! Talk about confusing!

Somehow BB found out that I love jewelry too, because she sent this beautiful bracelet.

Somehow the words thank you don’t seem like enough for such a special package of gifts! The blogging friendship we have developed across the miles is dear to my heart. I hope someday we will meet in person! In the mean time, I have some new decorations in the library!

And, last, but not least is a present I received from Penny! We have been reading Pete the Cat books and singing his songs in kindergarten. One morning Penny walked into the library before school started with this picture.

“Do you know who this is?” she asked me.

  “It’s Pete the Cat and his SEVEN groovy buttons!” I replied.

Thank you Penny for taking the time to make this drawing! It’s hanging in a special spot on our library wall!

**********

What books or series do we need to add to the library?

Tell me about a special package you got in the mail!

What should Pete the Cat do next?

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

9 thoughts on “Thank you Near and Far

  1. Mrs. Hembree,
    We’re happy you made your goal…looks like you purchased some great books for the Bulldog Readers.
    AA and BB, what a great parcel you sent to Mrs. Hembree. We hope you get to meeet her in person one day soon.

    Judy and Josa

  2. Dear Mrs Hembree,

    Firstly I would like to say well done with your annual book fair. A wonderful result all round. You did so well.

    Secondly what a beautiful painting Penny painted of Pete the cat I love it. She sure is a talented painter. Well done Penny!

    Last but not least you are so very welcome for your gifts you so deserve them I only wish I could fit in the parcel and BB and we would pop out and really surprise you.

    You are a wonderful friend to BB and I and this is just one another way to say that you are special. 🙂

    From your friend always,

    AA. :

    • Dear AA,

      Did you ever watch the old Star Trek shows or movies? I wish there was really a button where I could say, “Beam me up, Scotty” and magically appear in whatever place I want! I’d be in Australia for sure!

      The bookfair is a gift that keeps on giving. We buy books and for years, students enjoy reading them!

      Incidentally, our Alice Miranda books are very popular with our 4th grade girls! Just as much fun on this side of the ocean and there!

      Again, many thanks on the presents! 🙂

      Your grateful friend,
      Mrs. Hembree

      • @ Mrs Hembree,

        I had a huge laugh when I read your comment. I did watch Star Trek. That button sure would come in handy at times.

        I love reading about your book fair you are so right the gift of giving is so wonderful.

        Now you enjoy your gifts! How did you enjoy eating the chocolates I hope you did share the other one with your hubby Mrs Hembree.

        Cheers,
        AA. 🙂

        • Dear AA,

          Oh dear, I did not share the chocolates. I ate them all myself because I really love chocolate! Mr. Hembree will have to do without my chocolates from Australia.

          Feeling selfish in Washington,
          Mrs. Hembree

  3. @ Judy and Josa,

    Thank you for your comment. It was a really fun parcel to send mind, you I really didn’t have much of a say as BB did all the picking of the gifts.

    I have to admit I was pleased with what she did choose.

    I agree I hope one day we can meet.

    Take care.

    Sincerely,
    AA 🙂

  4. Dear Mrs Hembree,
    Thank you so much for including me in your awesome post.

    I am so glad you love your parcel.
    Have you ate the chocolates yet?
    If you have did you enjoy them?

    Your bracelet is beautiful and I knew when I saw it it was ment for you!

    Penny did an awesome and gorgeous drawing her cat looks awesome.

    I saw a One Direction Poster in the background I was so HAPPY you like One Direction! 😀 XD.

    Pete the cat should get mailed to Australia to someone in Australia and maybe takes him around with a camera and a diary where he has been and then the person sends Pete the cat back to you do like my idea Mrs Hembree?

    I got a special package in the mail from you Mrs Hembree their were shells, a Baby Mouse Book, a top and some interesting books.
    I love giving parcels to people because it lightens up their day.

    I know a series that is interesting The Series of Unfortunate Events it is a really interesting book about these kids that go to their Uncle’s house after their house burned down. The Uncle makes the three kids work for him and the Uncle is very mean to the three kids.

    From your pal,

    BB.

    • Dear BB,
      Thank you for your thoughtful comment! I love the idea of Pete the Cat going on a trip to Australia! I didn’t even think of that! Hum….

      I am going to meet lots of other librarians tomorrow at a conference! I hope I learn a lot from them!

      Thinking about Pete’s travel plans,
      Mrs. Hembree

  5. @ Mrs Hembree,

    Thanks for your awesome comment back to me. I hope you have a wonderful time meeting other librarians tomorrow.

    If you decide to send Pete the Cat over for a visit I would love to show him the sites of Geelong. 🙂

    From your pal,
    BB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *