Rockin’ with Pete the Cat

Are you rocking in your school shoes?

Are you singing in your school shoes?

Are you dancing in your school shoes?

In kindergarten and first grade WE ARE and it’s lots of fun!

Eric Litwin is the author of the Pete the Cat books. He and artist James Dean have created Pete, a blue, happy, “you can’t get me down” cat. He knows how to learn! He knows how to have fun! And…he knows how to sing! We watched a live reading of Pete the Cat and got our groove on!

<

We also did some fun Pete the Cat activities while learning about colors, guided drawing and counting.

We watched and listened to Miss Shy do her re-telling of Pete in this fun video!

<

Pete has a new book that just came out on September 25th! I can’t wait to read it! To learn more about Pete’s books visit his website.

  

This summer, my husband and I took Pete the Cat on our trip to Oregon and California. He helped me read maps along the way because in many places there was no internet or cell phone service! We got to read maps the old-fashioned way!

Here is a little video of our trip with Pete. Enjoy!

********

What stuffed animal would you take on a trip with you?

Have you ever used a state or country map to guide you?

What should Pete do next?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

7 thoughts on “Rockin’ with Pete the Cat

  1. Dear Mrs Hembree,
    Awesome post. Pete the cat looks like he had a wonderful time with you and your husband. If I had a cat I would name him Pete because he is adventurous and is a very cool cat. I would take my teddy bear Charlie with me to America. I have not used a map before only for Zoos. Pete should come to Australia next that would be awesome.

    Cheers,

    BB.

  2. Dear Mrs Hembree and Pete,

    Wow I loved reading all about your super adventure you and Pete went on oh yeh not to forget your hubby too.

    I loved watching your slide show. You really couldn’t miss you Pete for you do stand out because of your awesome colour which, so happens to be my favourite colour.

    Where to next Mrs Hembree with Pete? I really feel you and Pete need a holiday down under. 🙂

    I think it great that you used a map in your travels. I tend to use a GPS when traveling that way if I do get it wrong I can always blame it on the GPS.

    From your pal,
    AA 🙂

    • Dear AA,

      I am so old-fashioned! I love reading paper maps and don’t even own a GPS. However, I do have maps on my phone. Where we were on the coast had little phone reception, so being able to read a map was quite handy!
      I love the feel of the map and having it rest in my lap. Must be the librarian in me!

      I think Pete needs a holiday down under too! Someday, it will happen!

      Your map reading friend!
      Mrs. Hembree

  3. I love Pete the Cat! It is great to see the author performing the song. Thank you for sharing this. I am a big fan of your blog. It has taken me a while to get the courage to blog, but I just started my own and yours has been a huge inspiration. I am a teacher librarian in Oregon and have enjoyed reading about your library and appreciate the resources you post on your blog. Thank you!

    • Dear Amy,

      Thank you for commenting on our blog! I am so pleased you are taking a step into blogging yourself! It’s scary at first, but before you know it, you will be having lots and lots of fun!

      I think I need to follow BB’s advice and send Pete to Geelong for a spin around Australia. We are moving into the rainy season here and I bet he would love the warmth and sunshine of Australia in the spring!

      Yesterday we danced like Piggy and Gerald and make up our Knufflebunny dances!
      Keep us posted on how it goes!
      Mrs. Hembree

  4. Pingback: Librarian Bloggers To Look Up To « SLM508SEB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *