The Popular Titles

 

It’s that time of year when we start collecting all the library books to get ready for the summer vacation.

It’s also the time when I start looking at our check out statistics.

It’s no big surprise to see the results.

Then I wondered, what would happen if I took the graphic novels out of the mix?

How would the results change?

Clearly our readers like to laugh and that’s perfectly fine! I strongly believe reading should be an enjoyable experience. If to enjoy reading, you like to read funny books, then I see no problem with that. I prefer adventure and mystery stories, but my choices aren’t any better….they are just different.

We are also sharing these results as part of an All-Star Block Party!

Mrs. Dykeman, a librarian in upstate New York is compiling top titles on her blog, The Library Patch. Other librarians are sharing their results so we can all get ideas for some awesome summer reading fun! Check it out!

My goal will always be to convince every student at our school that they are life-long readers. Not just during the school year, but during the summer and in middle school and beyond.

********************

Today, my question is for our readers! Summer is coming!

Let’s help each other find great reading choices!

What books do you recommend for summer reading?

What summer goal have you set for this summer?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

7 thoughts on “The Popular Titles

  1. Dear Mrs Hembree,
    Awesome post Mrs Hembree.

    The best book I think I have read would have to be Big Nate. I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys reading Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Big Nate is by Lincoln Peirce. Lincoln Peirce is a cartoonist which means he enjoys writing and being an author.

    This Winter my goal is to read 30 books in a month. Mrs Hembree do you think my goal is possible or not?

    I noticed you have read 18 books that is a lot.

    Hope you have a lovely Summer with your friends and family.

    From your pal,
    BB.

    • Dear BB,
      From your comment, it sounds like you like to read fun and entertaining books! Big Nate is certainly that type of book! Many of the same students who like Diary of a Wimpy Kid also tell me they like the Big Nate books.
      I think 30 books during the winter is a great goal! I have been having trouble with my Goodreads widget. It doesn’t really keep the blog link up to date. When I have more extra time, I will see if I can fix it. This weekend I read 5 books and had the most wonderful time!
      One of the books I read was one I have had since I was about your age. It has moved with me across the country numerous times and is now very tattered and worn looking! The pages are yellowed and smell really bad. Yet, I had the best time re-reading my favorite book from my early years. It’s called High Trail and is an adventure novel. Do you ever like reading adventure novels?
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  2. Dear Mrs.Hembree,
    The book that kids will start reading is Diary of a Wimpy Kid Cabin Fever because the book sounds like an adventure to the past to the future.
    From Alex.

  3. Dear Mrs Hembree,

    What an awesome selection of the top twenty book’s . I have to say I do have a few favourites from the above collection. One in particular is the Baby Mouse books and I can’t wait to read “The One and Only Ivan.”

    I really do believe many Aussie kid’s love the ” Diary Of the Wimpy Kid” books too.

    I really have not set any summer goals as yet but you have got me thinking since tomorrow is the first day of winter maybe I should set some winter goals. What do you think Mrs Hembree?

    Are you going to be doing the summer reading/photo blog post again? I hope so for BB and I really loved reading all about the different places your students found to read a good book.

    Enjoy your summer holiday and have fun meeting Mrs Yollis and Mrs Morris.

    From your pal down under,
    AA

  4. Hey there – This is Sonya, a fellow librarian blogger, from The Library Patch! I have been following your post for several months now, and I love all of the great things that you do with your kids. I love seeing what other kids are reading. In fact, I am hosting an All Star Block Party over at my website. It’s an opportunity to share our top ten lists with other librarians. If you are so inclined, I would love for you to join. It’s easy to do … Just head on over to http://www.librarypatch.com and click on the froggy link. Hope to see you there.

    • Dear Sonya,
      Thank you so much for inviting us to be part of this fun collaborative project! I just included the All-Star block Party on our post and added a link on your site. Now I need to go back and read all the fun title suggestions!
      Great idea and happy reading!
      Julie Hembree

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *