World Read Aloud Day 3-7-12

World Read Aloud Day was a global reading event to show the world that the right to read and write belongs to all people. Worldwide at least 793 people remain illiterate. However, I hope through our work we will see a world where everyone can read!

At our school, Laurie Isop, author of How To Hug a Porcupine came and visited with our kindergarten, first and second grade students. I will have a longer post about her visit soon.

However, if you walked around our school, you would have seen something else! It looked at lot like Halloween because people we dressed up in costumes.

We had a “Dress up Like a Book Character Day” to celebrate our love for reading! We had 240 people dressed up – including staff members and students. It was a magical day of celebration and reading.

Mrs. Hembree and her Fancy Nancy girls!

I hope you will enjoy our Animoto video of our World Read Aloud Day!

 

 *************
Did your school participate in WRAD12?
Have you ever had a Book Character Dress up Day?
Who would you dress up like?
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

12 thoughts on “World Read Aloud Day 3-7-12

  1. Dear Mrs.Hembree,
    That video was cool. I was about to be Greg Heffly but I didn’t have time to dress up and it was hard with his hair. But there was lots of things that I was going to be but it is hard. So that is why I pick Greg.
    From Alex.

    • Dear Alex,
      A love of boys chose Greg! It a great choice, so I wouldn’t feel bad! I’m glad so many students participated! It was a fabulous day!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  2. Dear Mrs Hembree and your wonderful Bulldog readers,

    I love this post for the fact that you all made a huge effort getting dressed up as your favourite book characters. Must say you all looked awesome. As for you Mrs Hembree you simply looked wonderful. 🙂

    However, I was sad to read how many people world wide just cannot read. I am sure your blog is helping and making a difference.

    I think it is wonderful to read that Laurie came to your school too.

    Now if I had a chance to get dress up I would dress up as Willy Wonka.
    Somehow I do believe I would make a great Willy Wonka. 🙂

    From your pal,
    AA

    • Dear AA,
      I think it would be fun to see you dressed up as Willy Wonka! I can already imagine it in my head. We all had such a great time that there is talk already about doing it again next year!
      The goal for World Read Aloud Day was to reach 1 million participants. I don’t know if we met the goal, but I hope so. It pains me to think so many children don’t have the opportunities we have.
      It was fun being Fancy Nancy! I have wanted to dress up as her for a few years! Now to think of next year!
      From a Silly Librarian,
      Mrs. Hembree

  3. Howdy.
    Thanks so much for the info about finding a bookon the computer. That was really helpful.

    Parker

  4. Dear Fancy Nancy (Mrs Hembree),

    I just love your new post it is awesome.

    If I had the chance to dress up as my favourite book character I would dress up as Alice from Alice in Wonderland.

    Mrs Hembree your slideshow is awesome. Everyone who dressed up looked awesome.

    The book to hug a porcupine sounds very funny. I do not think I would hug a porcupine because they are very prickly.

    I had a feeling Mrs Hembree that you would dress up as Baby Mouse but this year you dressed up as Fancy Nancy.

    From your pal,
    BB.

    • Dear BB,
      If you hug a porcupine very carefully around the neck (according to the book), you will not get prickled! I don’t think I will ever get that close to one to find out for sure however.
      Alice in Wonderland is such a great character. We had a teacher dressed as the Mad Hatter, but we didn’t have any Alices.
      Your instincts about me dressing up as Babymouse were right on, but I did that at Halloween. I can’t do costumes twice and had to figure something else that would be fun! I think I know what I will choose for next year. It involved the color yellow. I wonder if you know what book that might refer to?
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  5. Dear Mrs. Hembree and students,

    I wish you worked at my school, Mrs. Hembree! You are so enthusiastic, and I love how you are bringing your library to life via the Internet! Thank you!

    If I were going to dress up for the day, I would have to go with Fancy Nancy!

    Great post!

    Your pal,
    Mrs. Y♥llis
    California

    • Dear Mrs. Yollis,
      I can be a little crazy and wild in the library! That’s what makes it so much fun to be a librarian. I don’t have one of those really quiet libraries where everyone goes, “Shhh!!!”. Usually, it’s a busy place, and sometimes I wish it was a less loud, but the students seem to like it just the way it is!
      I’ll share a secret with you, if I could have found a tutu, I would have worn that as part of Fancy Nancy’s costume. Fortunately for everyone at school, I was not able to find one! I think you would make a find Fancy Nancy too!
      I am still looking forward to collaborating with your clas this year, I just need my equipment in working order. My laptop that I use for Skype is at the repair shop. Hopefully, it will be back soon!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

  6. Dear Mrs.Hembree,
    On Sunday my family went the the market to get food, then we went to a restaurant and then we went to the mall. I meet new friends and then the excited part is that my friend and a girl teach a baby how to dance so then we help the baby what moves do you do in Dance Central 2 at the Microsoft store. Me and my dad always go there and my mom and my sister when shopping.
    From Alex.
    P.s. The mom record the dances we did with the baby and do you like to dance?

    • Dear Alex,
      It sounds like you had a fun Sunday! I have never done Dance Central, but I do like to dance! I had my first ballet lessons when I was three years old! I don’t do ballet anymore, but I still have a love for any kind of dance!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *