Vegemite from Down Under

 

Last week Miss Wyatt and Mr. Davo Devil brought us a tube of Vegemite! On Friday we had a big Vegemite eating experiment!

The big questions from the class were,

“What is Vegemite?”

“What does it look like?”

“What does it taste like?”

We learned that Vegemite is a dark brown food paste made from yeast extract. It is spread on crackers, biscuits or toast. According to Kraft Foods, the company that makes Vegemite,  about 70% of Australian household have a jar of Vegemite in their homes!

 

 It was invented in 1922 by a a chemist named Dr. Cyril Callister. It has been Australia’s most popular food spread for over 85 years! In fact, more than 22 million jars of Vegemite are made every year. That’s popular!

To give everyone a chance to try out Vegemite, I spread a thin layer of it on some crackers. A little goes a long way. This isn’t a spread that you put thickly on bread – a thin layer is best. After everything was ready, we all got a napkin and a Vegemite cracker!

Getting ready to try the Vegemite.

 

Then it was time for our taste test. On the count of , “One, Two, Three!” we had a bite at the same time! (Nobody was required to participate in this eating experience! Having a bite was strictly a personal choice!) 

Getting ready to take a bite!

 After we had a bite, we realized that it tastes very salty and nothing like most of us have ever tried before. Like all foods, some of us weren’t so hot about Vegemite, but others LOVED it!  We even had requests for seconds and thirds!

 

Thumbs UP for Vegemite!

 One thing we did learn is that different people like to eat different things. We only had a few kids who LOVED Vegemite, but most kids in class love peanut butter! Yet, most kids in Australia would probably wonder why we like peanut butter! It’s all about what you are raised or become accustomed to eating. Nothing is better than the other, just a little bit different!  Here’s to trying something new!

Yea for Vegemite!

 

If you want to learn more about Vegemite, you can go onto the Kraft Foods Vegemite website. Kraft even has a Vegemite channel on YouTube with Vegemite commercials, including a remake of the “Happy Little Vegemite” jungle and commercial.  Take a look!

 

*********************

What do you think about our eating experiment?

 

Have you ever tried Vegemite?

 

What’s your favorite way to eat Vegemite?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

17 thoughts on “Vegemite from Down Under

  1. Dear Mrs Hembree and Bulldog readers,

    Wow you got to taste our very own vegemite from down under.
    I have to say it is something that you like or you don’t.

    Yet here in Australia alot of us just love our vegemite. As for me I love it with butter and then the vegemite on top on a bit of toast.
    Well done anyway for having a taste!
    Now you have a bit of Aussie in you all. 🙂

    Thanks for this post Mrs Hembree I enjoyed reading it.

    Hope school life is going well for you and your children?
    BB is back to school nexted week as she has been away for a few days.

    From your pal down under,
    AA.

    • Dear AA,
      I think with my special gifts from BB and now my Vegemite taste test that I am a becoming a bit Aussie!

      I went to an Aussie concert with my husband and friends on Thursday! We saw the famous Keith Urban in concert and he sure knows how to put on a fabulous show!

      I hope BB had fun on her trip away! I look forward to seeing what she will write about it!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

      • @ Mrs Hembree,

        I had a laugh and yes you really are becoming more of an Aussie even more so now that you went to see Keith Urban and having a taste of vegemite.

        I did hear he puts on a great concert. The last concert I went too was to see Cher and Neil Diamond out of the two I really enjoyed Neil Diamond.

        Take care.

        From your friend down under,
        AA.

        • Dear AA,
          Yes, Keith Urban puts on a great show. He likes to go out into the audience and sing. When he came to our aisle to perform, I screamed like a silly school girl! It was great fun!
          Your Almost Aussie Friend,
          Mrs. Hembree

  2. Mrs Hembree,
    So glad there were some students who LOVED the vegemite. It is certainly an acquired taste.

    Most Aussie kids would know the vegemite jingle especially those born in the 50’s – 70’s.

  3. Aloha Mrs. Hembree,
    I have never had Vegemite but I learned a lot from your description. Since it was a gift you did the right thing by giving it a try. Also, like everything in life, some of will like it and some of us won’t.
    Did you know peanut butter was invented so people who had no teeeth would have a source of protein?
    Have a wonderful week!
    Mrs. Jacobs

    • Dear Mrs. Jacobs,
      I NEVER knew that peanut butter was invented to help people with no teeth have a protein source. What an interesting thing to learn! Well, I have all my teeth and I love peanut butter. When I lived in Germany years ago, it was the one food I missed the most!

      Do you like Spam? I always hear how popular Spam is in Hawaii!
      From, Mrs. Hembree

  4. Dear Mrs. Hembree,
    I loved your vegemite tasting experiment. I have never tried it but our good friend, Bianca, in Australia sent me some last year. You have inspired me to do a taste test with my class. I love peanut butter, myself. I grew up on peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and still love them today.
    Great job on this post.
    from,
    Mrs. Lynch

    • Dear Mrs. Lynch,
      I wonder what a Vegemite and peanut butter sandwich would taste like? Blending the favorites of both countries!

      Have you ever tried something called Quark? I had it in Germany and have never seen it here in the US. WE had it on bread with jam, and then Quark on top. It is white, and is kept in the refrigerator. It looks like sour cream, but isn’t.

      I hope you have fun taste testing!
      From, Mrs. Hembree

  5. Dear Mrs. Hembree and students,

    Good for you for trying something new! I think that is important in life.

    We got a tube of Vegemite from Jarrod in 2KM/2KJ and had a taste test. I agree with your statement, “It’s all about what you are raised or become accustomed to eating. Nothing is better than the other, just a little bit different!”

    The commercial was so cute! What a perfect addition to your post!

    What other unusual foods have you eaten? I once ate escargot in France! Does anyone know what that is?

    Sincerely,
    Mrs. Y♥llis
    California

    • Dear Mrs. Yollis,
      I think I could become a Vegemite fan especially inside a cheese sandwich!

      I have eaten escargot many times. My family thinks I am crazy when I eat it, but I LOVE it! I was so excited when I had some escargot in France!

      I have also eaten many oysters on the half shell! Do you know what those are?

      From your WA pal,
      Mrs. Hembree

  6. Dear Mrs Hembree and class
    It’s great that so many of you were willing to try a new food.

    Vegemite is very popular in New Zealand too. It’s something that we’ve grown up with. We’ve also grown up with peanut butter!

    I enjoy Vegemite and lettuce sandwiches, and I also like a smear of Vegemite on a slice of bread with grilled cheese on top.

    Some people even add it in the pan when they are making a meat gravy!

    Would you want to try any of those ideas?

    from Mrs McKenzie

    • Dear Mrs. McKenzie,
      I read on the Kraft Foods Vegemite website that people often use Vegemite when they make gravy! That makes sense to me as it tastes so muich like beef boullion! I will have to give it a try. Also, grilled cheese with Vegemite deserves a try!

      Thanks for these ideas!
      From,
      Mrs.Hembree

  7. Having grown up in New Zealand, I am very familiar with vegemite. We also eat marmite which I think is the British version of vegemite. Marmite is very high in B vitamins. You are right about being exposed to a food early…Josa loves marmite and vegemite on toast for breakfast, and on the sandwiches he brings to school. My husband, however, won’t eat it…he is from India and eats many things that I don’t eat!

    Judy (Josa’s mom)

  8. Dear Mrs Hembree,
    Vegemitetastic post.

    I love VEGEMITE so much I have it for a Snack, Lunch and Breakfast. I also like the American Peanut Butter.

    Interesting question I have Vegemite on toast and crackers and bread.

    We also have Cheesymite which is mixed with Vegemite and Cheese.

    Vegemite has a strong taste.

    From your Australian pal,
    BB.

  9. Hey don’t trust those tricky Australians… the real deal is not vegemite but the original English version Marmite.
    If you’d like me to send some I can we’d have to arrange an address.
    Love all your book work Mrs H. I must do a little photopeach on my favourite books in my school right now.
    Personally I made my reading breakthrough with …
    The Cat in the Hat!

    Best wishes
    Mr E
    Hawes

    • Dear Mr. Hawes,
      How nice to hear from you again! There is such a competition between Vegemite and Marmite! Who know that in America? We can buy Vegemite and Marmite in some of our specialty grocery stores. I will have to get a jar and try it out too!

      Personally, I will stay with my peanut butter!

      Thanks for the compliment on our our work on our school blog! It’s an addicting, wonderful habit! I will look at your photopeach this weekend. Soon I am going to make a Photosynth of our library as it became transformed after our move.

      Enjoy your weekend! Cat in the Hat scared me when I was young. I prefered PD Eastman and Go Dog Go!
      From,
      Mrs. Hembree

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *